Presentation Night

Our 2012 Presentation Night was held on Friday the 21st September. The committee opted to leave the clubrooms for the event this year so it was held at The Hoovers Room at the Palace Hotel. It was a fantastic turn out with 120 people attending the night for a three course sit down meal.

The night was hosted by Cobber Rogers and saw three club people being awarded Life Membership. Mal Hodson, Alan Moyle and Debbie Lalich all received this honour for their hard work and dedication to the club throughout the years.

There were no surprises when Alex Stewart was awarded the Jack Neil Medal as the Best and fairest League player for 2012. Capping off a stellar first season with the Roo’s Alex was presented his medal by Jack’s four grandchildren who are all current Kangas players, Rhys O’Loughlin, Stuart Wilson, Blain Wilson & Jake Lalich. Ben Webb was awarded runner up while Gerard Brown took out third best aswel as leading goal kicker in his first season with the club.

Jack Varian walked away with the B&F Colts award aswel as the 2012 Rising star award for 2012 which is chosen by the Rogers family. Ryan MacDonald and Brandon Higgins took out Runner Up and third best respectively.

It was great to see Chris Burrows there to collect his award as the Reserves Best & Fairest. Neil Vanderplank was runner up while Lindsay Pankhurst was third best.

It was a very successful night with everyone having a great time. See full list of award winners below and photos from the night.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Jack Neil Medal: Alex Stewart
Runner Up: Ben Webb
3rd Place: Gerard Brown
Rookie of the Year: Mitchell Sheppard
Rising Star Award:
Jack Varian
Coaches Award:
Jake Conti
Leading Goal Kicker: Gerard Brown

Virgo Medal & Shore Memorial Shield: Christopher Burrows
Runner Up: Neil Vanderplank
3rd Place: Lindsay Pankhurst
Coaches Award: Matthew Rout
Leading Goal Kicker: Russell Cowie

Roy Evans Perpetual Trophy: Jack Varian
Runner Up: Ryan MacDonald
3rd Place: Brandon Higgins
Coaches Award: Tim Miller
Leading Goal Kicker: Luke Spooner – 62 Goals
Best First Year Player: Shontaye James

Roo of the Year: Alex (Lofty) Warren
Best Clubman: Brendon Cullen

Mal Hodson
Alan Moyle
Debbie Lalich